Karen J. Hedlund Sworn-in as Member of the Surface Transportation Board

On January 3, 2022, Karen J. Hedlund (D), of Colorado, was sworn-in to serve a five-year term as Member of the Surface Transportation Board.  She fills the seat being vacated by former STB Member (and Chair) Ann D. Begeman ( R) whose term had expired.  The U.S. Senate confirmed Hedlund, by Unanimous Consent, on December 16, 2021.  The Freight Rail Customer Alliance (FRCA) actively supported Hedlund’s nomination including FRCA’s July 29, 2021 support letter submitted to the Senate Commerce, Science and Transportation Committee following her confirmation hearing. Read more