CP filed Motion to Withdraw Petition for Expedited Declaratory Order.




Petitioner, Canadian Pacific Railway Limited (“CPRL”) hereby moves the Board for leave to withdraw its Petition for Expedited Declaratory Order filed in the above captioned docket on March 2, 2016 (the “Petition”) and to discontinue this proceeding. The Petition sought a declaratory order as to the viability of a voting trust structure CPRL had suggested as part of an offer to combine with Norfolk Southern Railway Company (“NS”). CPRL sought the declaratory order to reduce regulatory uncertainty ahead ofNS’s May 12, 2016 annual meeting at which NS shareholders were to have had the opportunity to vote on a CPRL proposed resolution instructing the NS Board to negotiate with CPRL in good faith regarding a business combination (the “Shareholder Resolution”). On April 10, 2016, however, the CPRL Board of Directors voted unanimously to cease efforts to pursue discussions with NS regarding a business combination and to withdraw the proposed Shareholder Resolution. As a result, there is no longer a need for the Board to issue a declaration on the issues raised in the Petition. Accordingly, CPRL respectfully requests leave to withdraw the Petition and asks that the Board discontinue this proceeding. 1

Respectfully submitted,

David F. Rifkin
Dennis Lane
Jonathan P. Trotta
Stinson Leonard Street LLP
1775 Pennsylvania Ave. N.W.
Suite 800
Washington, D.C. 20006
(202) 785-9100

James J. Bertrand
Stinson Leonard Street LLP
150 South Fifth Street, Suite 2300
Minneapolis, MN 55402
(612) 335-1500

Paul A. Guthrie
Special Counsel to the CEO
Jeffrey J. Ellis
Chief Legal Officer
Canadian Pacific Railway Limited
7550 Ogden Dale Road S.E.
Calgary, AB T2C 4X9

Counsel for Canadian Pacific Railway Limited


1 CPRL’s rebuttal is currently due by April 13, 2016. In the unlikely event that the Board denies this motion, CPRL
respectfully requests that it be granted an extension of five days from the date of the Board’s decision in which to
file its rebuttal.


I hereby certify that a copy of the forgoing Motion to Withdraw Petition for Expedited Declaratory Order has been served this 11th day of April, 2016, via first-class mail upon the following parties of record:

William J. Baer
US Department of Justice
Antitrust Division
450 5th Street NW
Washington, DC 20530

Mitch Bainwol
Alliance of Automobile Manufacturers
803 7th Street, N.W.
Suite 300
Washington, DC 20001

Sandra L. Brown
Thompson Hine LLP
1919 M Street NW
Suite 700
Washington, DC 20036

Linda Bauer Darr
50 F Street, NW
Suite 7020
Washington, DC 20001

Erika A. Diehl-Gibbons
Smart – Transportation Division
24950 Country Club Blvd.
Suite 340
North Olmsted, OH 44070

Mary M. Dillon
Ellis & Winters LLP
4131 Parklake A venue
Suite 400
Raleigh, NC 27612

David Dorfman
Military Surface Deployment and Distribution Command
Att: Transportation Engineering Agency (SDTE-SA)
1 Soldier Way
Scott AFB, IL 62225

Richard S. Edelman
Mooney, Green, Saindon, Murphy & Welch, PC
1920 L Street NW
Suite 400
Washington, DC 2003 6

John E. Fenton
Patriot Rail
10060 Skinner Lake Dr.
Jacksonville, FL 32246

Rick C. Giannantonio
76 South Main Street
Akron, OH 44308

Stephane L. Gill
Consol Energy Inc.
CNX Center
1000 Consol Energy Drive
Canonsburg, PA 15317-6506

Randall C. Gordon
1250 Eye Street, N.W.
Suite 1003
Washington, DC 20005-3922

Thomas C. Kilcoyne
Cincinnati Southern Railway
801 Plum Street
Suite 214
Cincinnati, OH 45202

Michael F. Mcbride
Van Ness Feldman, LLP
1050 Thomas Jefferson Street, NW
ih Floor
Washington, DC 20007

Thomas F. McFarland
Thomas F. McFarland, P.C.
208 South LaSalle Street
Suite 1890
Chicago, IL 60604

David L. Meyer
Morrison & Foerster, LLP
2000 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W.
Washington, DC 20006

Jeffrey 0. Moreno
Thompson Hine, LLP
1919 M Street
Suite 700
Washington, DC 20036

Paul M. Donovan
LaRoe, Winn, Moerman & Donovan
1250 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Suite 200
Washington, DC 20036

Michael L. Rosenthal
Covington & Burling LLP
One City Center
850 Tenth Street, N.W.
Washington, DC 20001-4956

Robert A. Scardelletti
Transportation Communication International Union
3 Research Place
Rockville, MD 20850

Peter J. Shudtz
CSX Corporation
1331 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW
Suite 560, National Place
Washington, DC 20004

Carla Siegal
Int’l Association of Machinists and Aerospace Workers
9000 Machinists Place
Upper Marlboro, MD 20772

Eric S. Strohmeyer
CNJ Rail Corporation
81 Century Lane
Watchung, NJ 07069

Gary Theisen
P.O. BOX 1897
Fargo, ND 58107-1897

Jeffrey A. Bartos
Lisa M. Vickery
Guerrieri, Clayman, Barto & Parcelli, PC
1900 M Street, NW
Suite 700
Washington, DC 20036

Ann Warner
Freight Rail Customer Alliance
300 New Jersey Avenue, NW
Suite 900
Washington, DC 20001

Thomas W. Wilcox
The Foundry Building
1055 Thomas Jefferson Street, N.W.
Suite 500
Washington, DC 20007

Larry I. Willis
Transportation Trades Department, AFL-CIO
8 8 8 16th Street, NW
Suite 650
Washington, DC 20006

Michael S. Wolly
Zwerdling, Paul, Leibig, Kahn & Wolly, PC
1025 Connecticut Avenue, NW
Suite 712
Washington, DC 20036

John Previsich
Transportation Division, Sheet Metal, Air, Rail and Transportation Workers Union
24950 County Club Blvd.
Suite 340
North Olmsted, OH 44070-5333

David F. Rifkind
Stinson Leonard Street LLP
Counsel for Canadian Pacific Railway Limited